Life happens when we least expect it!

Or should I say – Life happens when we expect it . I believe its both. The title above is perfect for any moment or in this case an occasion I guess!

After a long hiatus in my blog, here I am writing this post!

I got a call recently from a friend and heard that she s expecting! Now you know where I am heading. This post is about a card for an expectant mother. As she is in her early weeks of pregnancy, I couldnt decide what color card I was about to make. But then teal was one of my favorite colors and this is what I created.

DSC_0015

I wish I had some sequins to add a little oomph to it . This is a 5 x 7 inch card.

I usually leave the inside of the card blank. It always made me feel incomplete imagining how the person would feel opening a card that’s pretty on outside and blank on inside. I designed the sentiment “Heard you are expecting” using a very beautiful font and die cut and stuck it on the interior.The inside came out pretty good too!

DSC_0018

Supplies used:

Paper: Bazzill robin blue cardstock for cardbase, teal patterned paper from michaels , Neenah solar white cardstock for the die cut , black cardstock

Stamps :  Whimsie doodles expecting image , Hero arts sentiment

Ink: Copics BG11, BG13( for teal), Y15, Y17 (for yellow), E21 (for skin and cake ), RV13 for blush, 100 and C6 for hair, R29 for cherry on cupcake , Versamark ink for embossed sentiment, Distress ink peacock feathers for the die cut

Misc: Teal ribbon, Spellbinders nestabilities floral ovals , silver embossing powder , stickles yellow and crystal stickles, foam dots (to add dimension to die cut and double dimension for the expecting mom image)

I m entering this card in june 2014 whimsiedoodles blog challenge – celebration theme!

Here’s a close up of the outside and inside:

The coloring is quite visible in this picture.

DSC_0016\

I can’t just resist using stickles ! Do you spot a bit of sparkle on the cupcake liner, the shoes and the frills of the dress?

DSC_0019

Time to post it !

See ya,

Vidya

 

Leave a Reply

